User management

If you have more than one person processing your accounts, you can invite multiple users to have access to Sage One Accounting. Having individual users means you can assign people different roles from read only to full access. If required, you can also restrict users’ access to certain areas of Accounting.

To invite users, you must log into Accounting as the owner. The owner is the person who originally signed up to Accounting and has access to all areas of the service.

Roles

You can assign users one of the following roles:

Read Only The user is able to view data but not enter or amend any details.
Restricted Access The user can enter invoices, credit notes, payments and receipts. By default a restricted user can’t edit delete or void transactions and has no access to the Journals or Settings areas. They also can’t run statutory reports, such as the VAT Return.
Full Access The user has access to all options within Sage One.
Custom If you choose to apply a custom role to a user name, you can specify what access you want them to have to the different areas available in Sage One. For example, you might want them to have full access to sales but no access to the Banking area.
No Access The user is unable to access options within Sage One.

The following tasks require a user to have full access:

  • File a VAT Return or any other statutory forms online
  • Adjust a VAT Return
  • Make changes to your business or financial settings
  • Enter journals
  • Reconcile a bank account
  • View management reports
  • Access bank records
  • View bank balances

You can find out more about which options users with different roles can access, from our Detailed user access levels article.

To invite a new user

If you have more than one business setup in Accounting, you can invite the same or different users to each of your businesses. Once the user has accepted your invites, they can see the companies they have access to from the business list drop-down menu.

  • 1. Click Settings then Manage Users.
  • 2. Click Invite User.
  • 3. Enter the user’s email address.

When you save the user’s details, an email is sent to the address entered inviting them to access Sage One. The first time they access Sage One, they’re prompted to enter a password and choose their security questions.

  • 4. Under User Permissions, if this user is a system manager, select the System Manager check box.

You must only select this check box if you want the user to have full access to all areas of Sage One. A system manager can access User Management, set up new users and change the access of existing users.

  • 5. Choose the role you want the user to have.

If you want the user to have different access levels to the available options within Sage One, choose Custom.

  • 6. If you chose Custom, click Advanced Settings and choose the required role for each area. For more information, please see the previous section.
  • 7. Click Save.

You’ve successfully invited a new user to access Accounting. The user can now activate their user account from the link in the activation email and once they’ve logged in a tick appears in the Activated column. You can also see the date they last logged in. To invite another user click Invite User and repeat steps 2 to 5.

To edit an existing user

  • 1. Click Settings then Manage Users.
  • 2. Click the required user and amend their details as required.
  • 3. Click Save.

To delete a user

  • 1. Click Settings then Manage Users.
  • 2. Click the delete button next to the required user name, then click Yes.

Let us know what you think...