Common billing questions

If you’ve ever wondered about how or why you’re billed for your Sage One service, then this article answers the most common questions our support team receive.

When am I billed for my service?

You are invoiced for your service on the first day of each calendar month and payment is taken by direct debit on the 16th of that month. The invoice covers from the first day of the month up to the last day. Each month, we email you an invoice notification to the email address that you use to access your Sage One service and you can view your invoice from the Billing & Payment Details area of Sage One.

How can I view the invoice for my Sage One service?

Every month we send an email to your registered email address to let you know your invoice is ready. You can then view a PDF copy of your invoice from within your Sage One service. To view your invoice:

  • 1. Log in to Sage One.
  • 2. Settings > Billing & Payment Details.
  • 3. Sage One Invoices > click the invoice you want to view.

To view your Sage One invoices, you must log in as the owner. The owner is the person who originally signed up and has access to all areas of the service.

If you want to, you can print or save the invoice by opening your browser File menu and choosing the relevant option.

Why is my bill higher than the price shown on your website?

The website price excludes VAT, however the billable amount includes VAT at the current standard rate for your registered country. This is 20% for the UK, and 23% for Ireland.

If you sign up for a 30 day trial of the Sage One service and then enter your direct debit details, your first invoice includes a pro rata amount for the non-trial period. For example, if you sign up to Sage One on 15 March, your free trial ends on 14 April. Therefore, your first invoice is generated on 1 May, and includes two chargeable periods, 14-30 April, and 1-31 May.

I’ve cancelled my Sage One service so why has a payment been taken by direct debit?

The invoice for your Sage One service is generated on the first day of each month, and covers the period up to and including the end of the month. If you cancel your service on or before the 16th of the month, the invoice for the current month is still payable, and the final payment is taken on this date. If you cancel your service after the 16th of the current month, but before the 1st of the next month, as you’ve already paid for the full month, no further payment is due.

I’ve changed my business bank account. How do I update my direct debit details?

Changing your direct debit details is quick and easy. You don’t need to cancel your previous direct debit as Sage One does this automatically when you enter your new details. To change your direct debit:

  • 1. Log in to Sage One.
  • 2. Settings > Billing & Payment Details.
  • 3. Direct Debit > Create New Direct Debit, then simply follow the on-screen instructions.

What should I put in the Reference Number box on the direct debit mandate?

You can put any reference number you want here or leave it blank. This is for your own records and isn’t compulsory.

Why am I asked to enter my direct debit details when I log in to my service?

If you signed up for a free 30 day trial, once the trial has expired, to keep using the service, you need to enter your direct debit details. Simply enter your direct debit details and continue using your service as normal. We’ll email you to let you know when your first payment will be taken.

Or, if you decided to Buy Now when you signed up, you’ll need to enter Direct Debit details to start using Sage One.

If you’ve already paid an annual fee for your Sage One service, for further assistance, please contact our support team on 0845 1116611.

Calls will cost 2 pence per minute, plus your phone company’s access charge.

How do I cancel my Sage One service?

If you only have one Sage One service, email your request to cancel your service to support@sageone.com from your registered email address. We’ll then cancel your account within 24 hours and email you to confirm this.

Your registered email address is the one you used when you first signed up to your Sage One service. If you’re not sure what this is, you can check it from within your Sage One service by clicking Settings > Edit My Profile.

If you have more than one Sage One service and you just want to cancel one of them, you can do this from within Service Settings without having to contact our support team. To do this:

  • 1. Services > click the service you want to remove > Unsubscribe > Continue.
  • 2. Check the new monthly cost > Finish.

If your current invoice shows both services, the next direct debit payment taken from your bank account reflects the cost of both services. Your next invoice, generated on the 1st of the following month, shows the one remaining service and the new payment is taken on the 16th.

Who do I contact if I have a query about billing and access Sage One through MyBusinessWorks?

As your access to Sage One is through MyBusinessWorks, if you have any billing or service access queries, please contact them from www.mybusinessworks.co.uk/contact-us

Let us know what you think...